

Cricket will be conducted according to The Laws of Cricket (2000 Code 2nd Edition 2003) and/or **Cricket Victoria's Twenty20 Rules**, with specific ICSC exceptions listed below.

### **EVENT FORMAT**

Cricket is contested as a gender-specific Round-robin Tournament played over a three-weekend period.

The previous competition's top four placed teams will be seeded accordingly. If St Mary's College, International House, Kendall Hall or Janet Clarke Hall place in the previous competition's top four they will be seeded accordingly. Should they not place, they will be placed in E1 and F1 based on the random draw. Positions E2 and F2 will be based on the previous year's competition results. After this process has taken place, the remaining unseeded positions shall be filled based on the random draw. Finals shall consist of Quarter-finals, Semi-finals and the Grand-final. A 3rd / 4th Play-off game shall also be played.

Men's competition will be conducted as a T20 (twenty overs per side) and Women's will be conducted as a T12 (12 overs per side).

### **TEAM SIZE & ELIGIBILITY**

Per ICSC rules, each college is permitted to play two non-resident students (20%) in any given match.

### **GAME OFFICIALS**

Where available Umpires affiliated with Cricket Victorian (Premier Cricket or Sub-district Cricket) shall be used to umpire matches (one umpire for each preliminary match and two for the Semi-Finals and Grand Final where available).

One Cricket Victoria umpire will be used for all games where available for the Women's competition.

One scorer is to be provided by each competing College in all games.

### **UNIFORM AND EQUIPMENT**

Men's and Women's players must wear the same coloured team shirt — either white or in team colours. These players may wear cricket whites or tracksuit pants/shorts of the same colour, providing all players wear the same style of clothing.

Two new balls will be supplied for each match. If match is played on turf a 4-piece ball will be supplied for each innings. If match is played on synthetic a 2-piece ball will be supplied for each innings. Participating teams will be permitted to keep their playing ball after each match.

### **FORFEITS**

If a team is not ready to play within 10 minutes of the scheduled start of play, that team will forfeit the match. The team that causes the delay will have their innings reduced at a rate of one over for each two minute delay.

### **ICSC POLICIES**

All ICSC Policies and Procedures must be adhered to by all participants. Designated Team Captains and College Sports Representatives are also expected to ensure their College participants are aware of all relevant polices and procedures and act accordingly. For more information, consult the ICSC Handbook.

### **PRACTICE**

Two synthetic practice nets are available for hire through **Melbourne University Sport**. Colleges should note that bookings are compulsory at Princes and Royal Parks via the **City of Melbourne**. Failure to book ovals will result in the offending College be banned from future use as well as being ineligible to participate in future College Sport competitions conducted in City of Melbourne parks and reserves.

### **CONTACTS**

Maddy Goldsmith
Sport Competitions Coordinator
maddy.goldsmith@unimelb.edu.au



## **ICSC CRICKET RULES**

### SPORT SPECIFIC RULES

# RESTRICTIONS ON THE PLACEMENT OF FIELDSMEN

Due to the inability to have suitable ground-markings prepared, the two semi-circles referred to in rule 7.2 shall be replaced with an imaginary circle of a 30m radius from the centre of the wicket — umpires should use this 30m zone to enforce Twenty20 fielding restrictions.

#### **BOWL-OUT.**

In the event of a tie (in a Semi-Final or Final), a "Super Over" shall take place. Each team shall be given a second innings each of one (1) over each. A coin toss shall take place to determine which team shall complete their innings first. The bowling team may only use one bowler while bowling the "Super Over". The batting team 3 batsmen. A Super Over ends if a team takes 2 wickets. The team who has scored the most runs after their "Super Over" shall be deemed the winner of the match. In the case of a tied "Super Over", there shall be another "Super Over" for each team until a result is found. The teams must select different batsmen/bowler should another "Super Over" be required.

### **OVER LENGTH (WOMEN'S ONLY)**

The length of any over is restricted to 9 balls with the exception of the second-last and last over of each innings.

Each individual bowler in the women's competition is permitted to bowl up to four overs each. It is encouraged that captains share the bowling amongst all capable bowlers where possible.

### **INTERRUPTED GAMES**

In the event that a game is cannot start on time due to poor weather, the both innings of the game shall be reduced in overs in relation to the amount of time lost (one over for every four minutes lost). In the event that a game is interrupted by poor weather, the Duckworth/Lewis system shall be used to decide the winner providing the team batting second has received 40% of the number of overs faced by the team who batted first.

In the event that the team batting second does not receive a minimum 40% of the overs faced by the team that batted first, the game will be declared a draw and both teams shall receive half the number of points allocated for the

### **SLOW PLAY PENALTIES**

If the side bowling first does not bowl its 20 overs (12 for Women's competition) in its allocated time period (or other allocated number of overs in an interrupted match), it will lose double the number of overs it failed to bowl when it comes to bat. In applying this rule an allowance shall be made for time lost due to circumstances beyond the control of the fielding side (e.g. rain, injuries).

