

Rowing will be conducted according to the rules of the FISA, with specific ICSC exceptions listed below.

EVENT FORMAT

Rowing is contested as a Regatta over a three week training period, with one designated Race Day. The events to be contested are as follows:

Men's:

1st VIII – 2000m – Ormond, Trinity, Newman, Queen's 2nd VIII – 1600m – All Colleges

Women's:

1st VIII – 2000m – Ormond, Trinity, Newman, Queen's 2nd VIII – 800m – All Colleges

CREW SIZE & ELIGIBILITY

Rowers are only permitted to row in one boat during the Regatta. Only in the event of an injury or illness, may a substitute be permitted by the Regatta Manager.

Per ICSC rules, each college is permitted to have two non-resident students (20%) in any given crew. This includes the coxswain.

ORGANISATION OF HEATS

For the **Men's 1st VIII heats**, fields will be determined on a rotation basis according to the following schedule:

| 2020 | Ormond v Newman | Trinity v Queen's |
|------|------------------|-------------------|
| 2021 | Ormond v Trinity | Queen's v Newman |
| 2022 | Trinity v Newman | Ormond v Queen's |

Should a College elect to not row in the Women's 1st VIII when they are drawn in a heat of two, then a College from the corresponding heat will be randomly drawn to create two heats of two boats.

Men's and Women's 1st VIII Stations for Heats will be allocated according to the random draw with the first College drawn being allocated South Station, the second College drawn allocated to Centre Station and the third College drawn allocated to North Station (if required).

Fields for the Men's and Women's 2nd VIII Heats and Stations will be drawn according to the annual ICSC

Random Draw. Where a College elects not to participate in this event, then this College's assigned heat shall only contested between the two remaining boats. Stations will be allocated in the order of South, Centre and North on a repeating basis.

ORGANISATION OF FINALS

For 1st VIII Heats (both Men's and Women's), the winning crew shall progress through to the A Final. Losing crews shall progress through to the B Final. Stations for all Finals shall be allocated according to the Official Regatta Schedule (see Appendix).

For 2nd VIII Heats (both Men's and Women's), the first and second crew across the line shall progress through to the Semi-finals. The winning crews from each Semi-Final shall progress through to the A Final. The losing crews will be allocated Regatta placing of equal 4th. Stations for all Semi-finals and the Final shall be allocated according to the Official Regatta Schedule (see Appendix).

EVENT OFFICIALS

The Melbourne University Boat Club (MUBC) is to be engaged as Regatta Manager for the Regatta. Qualified officials should be sourced from MUBC and/or Rowing Victoria to assist in the management of the event.

UNIFORM AND EQUIPMENT

Competing Colleges should wear matching sport uniforms for the duration of competition. The uniform colour of each College should be identified prior to the event and listed in the program. Boats and associated equipment will be sourced by the Melbourne University Boat Club and offered for hire to participating Colleges. The Host shall determine a designated team/spectator space for each College for the duration of the Regatta.

ICSC POLICIES

All ICSC Policies and Procedures must be adhered to by all participants. Designated Team Captains and College Sports Representatives are also expected to ensure their College participants are aware of all relevant polices and procedures and act accordingly. For more information, consult the ICSC Handbook.

CONTACTS

Larissa PayneSport Participation Coordinator larissa.payne@unimelb.edu.au

Nieve Powell ICSC President nieve.powell@gmail.com

