Basketball at the University of Melbourne has a rich history of Intervarsity representation.

We currently have men's and women's teams in the University Basketball League, our annual Big Blue vs Monash, along with the UniSport Nationals and 3x3 competitions.

2021 Intervarsity Basketball Program

Student-athletes are expected to commit to being available for selection for the following events:

Event Dates Location Cost and Details

University Basketball League


Melbourne and Interstate

Costs covered by UoM

Uni Nationals 3x3

29-30 April

Canberra (ACT)

$165 + Airfares and Accommodation

Big Blue vs Monash

Semester 2


No cost

Uni Nationals Div 1

25 Sep - 1 Oct

Gold Coast

$200 + Airfares and Accommodation

Represent the University of Melbourne

Register your interest to below receive future updates on trials, training, event costs and more.

Express Interest

Trials, Selection and Key Dates

To be selected for the University of Melbourne in Basketball you must:

  • Express your interest here
  • Give evidence of playing experience including current and previous team/clubs, playing position etc
  • Attend (at minimum) one of the team trials/training sessions as advised by the Coach or TM
  • Be confirmed for selection by Team Manager, Coach and MU Sport
  • Complete any online registration requirements as required by MU Sport
  • An extended squad for IV Basketball will be established early in the year– players can be added by coaches at any time pending selection
  • Squad members are expected to sign and adhere to a player contract
  • Make any applicable payments to MU Sport for particular events (more details to follow when team selected)

Need more information?

Talk with the Team Manager or contact Acting Sport Performance Coordinator Larissa Payne at the Nona Lee Sports Centre on (03) 9035 4673 or

History of Basketball

Basketball at the University of Melbourne has a rich history of Intervarsity representation, winning National Championships on 4 occasions (Men: 1998, 2002, 2010, Women: 2001) with the teams finishing runner up several times (Men: 2009, 2012, 2013, Women: 2004, 2015, 2019)