Melbourne Announces Squads for 2019 Australian Boat Race

The University is excited to announce the official men's and women's squads for the 2019 Australian Boat Race.

The annual race encapsulates the 160-year rivalry between Australia's oldest universities, Melbourne and Sydney.

The 2019 chapter will take place on the Yarra River, following a 4.5km course from Toorak to the heart of the Melbourne CBD.

It will be Chris Hargreaves' third Australian Boat Race, but his first on the Yarra.

"One aspect I’m looking forward to is the atmosphere," he told Melbourne University Sport.

"Having a peloton of bikes following the race and other supporters lining the riverbank makes this a unique racing experience compared to when we’re on Sydney Harbour."

Women's coxswain Phoebe Georgakas is also looking forward to racing on home water.

"The aim is always to execute our best race on the day, but a bit of a home-ground advantage might help us in winning back the women’s trophy for Melbourne Uni," she said.

For more information about the event, visit the Australian Boat Race website.

See below for the full squad lists.

Women Course

Milla Marston

Bachelor of Commerce

Fiona Macklin

Master of Development Studies

Brigid McKeagney-Douglas

Bachelor of Science

Kate Duggan

Master of Teaching (Secondary)

Eleanor Price

Bachelor of Science

Olivia Honore

Master of Teaching (Secondary)

Eliza Gaffney

Bachelor of Biomedicine

Georgia Lenton-Williams

Master of Global Media Communication

Phoebe Georgakas (coxswain)

Bachelor of Science

Sophie Walmsley

Bachelor of Agriculture

Men Course

Zane Kosovich

Bachelor of Commerce

Fergus Ellis

Bachelor of Agriculture

Maxwell Fisher

Bachelor of Commerce

Robert Corden-McKinley

Bachelor of Agriculture

Christopher Hargreaves

Master of Teaching (Secondary)

Harry Isles

Bachelor of Arts

Thomas Page

Bachelor of Science

Seb Francis

Bachelor of Commerce

Jamima Jamieson (coxswain)

Bachelor of Agriculture