Excellence and Leadership Awards

Each year Melbourne University Sport recognises the significant contributions made by individuals and clubs to our sporting community.

The Awards

We have a long and proud history of community sport founded on the work of generations of community and student volunteers. We recognise that our volunteers are our greatest asset.

These awards reward volunteers who have made a significant contribution to a MU Sport affiliated club, program or initiative. We encourage all student-athletes, coaches, administrators, advisory group members, ambassadors and volunteers to consider nominating your peers to be recognised for their efforts.

Awards of Excellence

Individuals, teams or clubs who demonstrated excellence in the award year, in the following categories:

  • Social Justice: recognises an individual (or group of individuals) that, through sport, has brought about positive change or raised awareness of a pressing social justice issue. This award recognises those who have pushed the boundaries to prove that real, genuine change can be made through sport.
  • Inclusion: recognises an individual or club who made a significant contribution to safe, fair and inclusive sport. This award recognises an individual’s efforts to change policies, develop programs or influence positive cultural change to ensure that everyone can thrive through sport, regardless of one’s personal attributes such as gender, sexual orientation, race, age, ability.
  • Innovation: recognises an individual, club or program that introduced innovation to their sport or club, which positively contributed to performance or participation outcomes. The award will recognise innovations that have transformed the member, athlete or user experience.

Leadership Awards

There are two awards on offer for MU Sport community members who have made significant contributions to sport over the years. The Service Award recognises service for a period of three years or more and the Distinguished Service Award recognises service for a period of ten years or more.

Candidates for the Leadership Awards may be:

  • club executive committee members or office bearers; coaches, instructor, team managers and other club support personnel
  • intervarsity coaches, team managers and other support personnel; and
  • advisory group members, advocates and other general contributors to sport at the University

Candidates may be nominated for demonstrated leadership, impact and legacy in the following areas:

  • student participation and program growth
  • club, team and/or individual performance success
  • inclusion, diversity, reconciliation and/or gender equity
  • innovation and sustainability
  • culture and engagement, including alumni engagement
  • administration and/or management best practice

Service Award candidates must demonstrate a contribution to one or more nomination categories across a period of 3 or more years.

Distinguished Service Award candidates must have demonstrated an outstanding and consistent contribution to sport across two or more nomination categories and usually across a period of 10 or more years.

Please see the Sport Leadership Awards Guidelines for more information.

2022 Nominations will open later in the year