Club Performance Awards

Clubs have a long standing history of sporting achievement at the University of Melbourne

In addition to the recognition our club performances get within their own community, MU Sport have a variety of awards to reward the best performances across all clubs each year. Awards include Individual Performance, Team Performance, Coach, Personality, and Club of the Year. Awards are endorsed by the Club Advisory Group.

The Awards

These awards aim to individuals, club members, coaches and club teams who have demonstrated outstanding sporting achievement throughout the course of the year in the following categories:

  • Club Team Performance of the Year
  • Club Individual Performance of the Year
  • Club Coach of the Year
  • Club of the Year

2023 Club Sport Award Winners

2023 Club Sport Awards Winners

Club Team Performance of the Year - VNL 19&U Premiers (Netball)

The Lightning 19&U team won the premiership in the Victorian Netball League. The team lost only one game throughout the regular season and went on a club record 13 consecutive winning streak. They finished on top of the ladder by a 2 games margin and won their grand final by 13 goals

Club Individual Performance of the Year - Tom Lennard (Rugby)

This year Tom won the clubs Best and Fairest award as well as the top points scorer in the Dewar Sheild, the top division in Victoria. Tom’s performances also earned him a spot on the State team in the recent Australian Rugby Shield and a nomination as Victoria's top performer.

Club Coach of the Year - Sarah Mylrea-Norton (Netball)

Sarah was the head coach of the 19&U as well as the assistant coach for the Lightning Bolts 1 team. Sarah went above and beyond to coordinate trials and recruitment to ensure the team was well organised in their premiership winning season.

Club of the Year - Lacrosse

In 2023 the Lacrosse Club ran a successful 140th Anniversary welcoming their current and previous members to celebrate their history. The Club developed and supported many initiatives, such as Come and Try Lacross 5’s UniLax social league and Lacrosse Together (which welcomed all abilities from the LGBTIQ community). The men’s senior team won championship, and the women’s senior team finished first on the ladder and were runners. The club also supported the Intervarsity program, where the team ultimately won the gold medal.

Previous Winners

Club Individual Performance of the Year

2023 Tom Lennard (Rugby)

2022 Joel Rimes (Basketball) and Laim Van Gemst (Volleyball)

2021 Catriona Bisset (Athletics)

2020 Alex Gregory (Cricket)

2019 Tomonori Sakai (Kendo)

2018 Xi Xi (Volleyball)

2017 Oscar Wookey (Hockey)

2016 Not Awarded

2015 Not Awarded

2014 Not Awarded

2013 Lisa Weightman (Athletics)

Club Team Performance of the Year

2023 VNL 19&U Premiers (Netball)

2022 Mens Premier Division 1 Team (Volleyball)

2021 Women's Senior Team (Football)

2020 Women's Open Eight (Boat)

2019 Men’s Open Team (Kendo) and Women's Premier Team (Volleyball)

2018 MU Heat All-Girl Open Pom (Cheerleading)

2017 Women's State 1 (Soccer)

2016 Women's Division One AV Shield Team (Athletics)

2015 Women's University Blues (Volleyball)

2014 Uni Blacks - Men's (Touch)

2013 Not Awarded

2012 Colts' XV (Rugby)

2011 Not Awarded

2010 Women's Honours (Volleyball)

2009 Women's Senior Eight (Boat)

2008 Men's Honours (Volleyball)

Club Coach of the Year

2023 Sarah Mylrea-Norton (Netball)

2022 Shawn King (Basketball)

2021 Erini Gianakopoulos (Football)

2020 Antony Keely (Cricket)

2019 Kazuya Niiro (Volleyball)

2018 Matthew Keen (Water Polo)

2017 Gus Cirillo (Volleyball)

2016 Elissa Kent (Lightning Netball)

2015 Davin Smith (Hockey)

2014 Quentin Gleason (Uni Blues)

2013 Shannon Winzer (Volleyball)

2012 Matthew Kempton (Blacks Football)

2011 Alex Henshilwood (Boat)

2010 Andrew Walker (Basektball)

2009 Andrew Walker (Basektball)

2008 Hugh Van Cuylenberg (Cricket)

2007 Qi Shen (Volleyball)

2006 Tim Dolphin (Boat)

2005 Tim Dolphin (Boat)

Club Personality of the Year

2020 Roisin Selvarajoo (Cheer and Dance)

2019 Nick Burke (Cricket)

2018 Geremy Cao (Taekwondo WTF)

2017 Robert Smith (Gridiron)

2016 Christine Li (Taekwondo)

2015 Rachel Bach (Soccer)

2014 Ian Jones (Rugby)

2013 Fawad Ahmed (Cricket)

2012 John Buckley (Soccer)

2011 Greg Kennedy (Cricket & Touch)

2010 Tristan Harris (Touch)

2009 Not Awarded

2008 Duncan McKenzie (Lacrosse)

Club of the Year

2023 Lacrosse

2022 Mountaineering

2021 Cheer and Dance

2020 Cheer and Dance

2019 Dancesport

2018 Cheer and Dance

2017 Table Tennis

2016 Mountaineering

2015 Hockey

2014 Underwater and Mountaineering

2013 Touch

2012 Kendo

2011 Squash

2010 Touch

2009 Hockey

2008 Kendo and Soccer

2007 Volleyball

2006 Underwater

2005 Football W

2004 Football M

2003 Basketball

2002 Mountaineering

2001 Karate

2000 Basketball

1999 Athletics

1998 Badminton

1997 Underwater

1996 Cricket

1995 Snowboarding

1994 Water Polo

1993 Hockey and Horseriding

1992 Sailing & Windsurfing

1991 Badminton

1990 Cricket

1989 Mountaineering

1988 Ski

1987 Netball

1986 Athletics

Contact Us

For any questions or more information please contact:

Tom Mullumby
Clubs Coordinator
8344 3945